The East Coast Heritage Museum is situated in picturesque Swansea on Tasmania's east coast. Located in the main street of this seaside town the museum incorporates a Visitor Information Centre, War Memorial and the Glamorgan Spring Bay Historical Society Inc. The heritage listed whitewashed building has a commanding view of the Freycinet Peninsula.
The old section of the building was once a school house and teacher's residence, built in 1860 from stone and rubble used in the Waterloo Point Military Station. The renovated building, new gallery and Visitor Information centre opened in December 2011.
The museum's policy is to exhibit and preserve artefacts from the Glamorgan and Spring Bay Municipality for the community, visitors and future generations. The collection of over 5000 items includes an 1880 Historic Fiddleback Blackwood Billiard Table, Thomas Bock's drawings of George and Mary Meredith, Louisa Anne Meredith's books and costumes, honour rolls, war medals, convict relics and much more.
Admission is by gold coin donation.Visit Website
Access Without Assistance for the Disabled, Car park, Coach Parking, Conference/Convention Facilities, First aid equipment, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, Guide, Internet Access, Parking for the Disabled, Public Toilet, Shop, Toilet facilities for the Disabled, Wireless Internet Access
Cultural, Flora/Fauna, Historic/Heritage, The Arts