Built in 1872, it is easy to underestimate the significance of the once remote Tennant Creek Telegraph Station. Early travellers welcomed the refuge from the harsh and unforgiving surroundings they had travelled through. Weary linesmen slumped on the cool veranda escaping the heat of the day. Imagine the excitement caused by an approaching camel train and travellers bringing news and letters for the lonely inhabitants.
The discovery of gold by a linesman in 1925 quickly led to the establishment of the present Tennant Creek township. By 1935 a post office was opened which quickly led to the closure of the telegraph station, ending an era of hospitality for weary travellers to the outback.
For those who wish to explore the historic buildings, a key is available from the Battery Hill Visitor Centre on Peko Road. A self guided walk information sheet is available on-site.Visit Website
Car park, Public Toilet