The Blue Mountains town of Lawson has had many names. Initially called Twenty Four Mile Hollow due to its location 24 miles from Emu Ford on the Nepean River, the name later changed to Christmas Swamp and then to Blue Mountain. The name Blue Mountain was misleading so Lawson became the new township name, adapted from the surname of one of the three European explorers, who crossed the Blue Mountains.

Lawson has two spectacular walks including the 1.5 hour Waterfall Circuit walk that takes you past four different waterfalls, and the longer Terrace Falls track for more experienced walkers.

Lawson Australia

Category: Destinations

Get Featured on About Australia