New England North West
The Historical Society Museum Bingara is housed in the old Post Office Hotel built in 1860. It was constructed from pit sawn and hand made local cypress timber and features a puddled iron roof. A visit to the museum will reveal photographic displays and historic memorabilia. Within the grounds you will find the original blacksmith shop, a teacher school house, historical machinery shed and a building constructed to house the extensive gem and rock collection donated by the late Mr Gil Craig.
The historic Ottery Mine is an abandoned Arsenic/Tin Mine. This interesting site has been made safe by the department of minerals and resources, who have also provided an information board detailing the sites fascinating history. The board includes pictures and an explanation of the mines workings. The mine is one of only a handful left in the world, where underground workings can be viewed and arsenic concentrates can still be seen on the brickwork. Information on the history and a time line of the Ottery is available from the Visitor Centre. Tours can be incorporated to include the historic mining